"Eziokwu" by Odumodublvck - Review: The Truth and Soundstyle of Okporoko Music in 2023

Eziokwu by Odumodublvck is a unique project, much like Odumodublvck himself. He embodies the essence of art and stands as a striking representation of stylistic oddity.

Eziokwu by Odumodublvck: The Truth and Soundstyle of Okpoko Music in 2023

In less than 12 calendar months since signing a record deal with Native Records, this Abuja-based rapper has orchestrated a coup within the mainstream Nigerian Hip-Hop scene.

The 2023 “Eziokwu Mixtape” is the project that continues to propel the Big Kala-vibe, often referred to as Okporoko Music. Okporoko Music is a subversive sound that combines elements of Hip-Hop, Neo-R&B, and Highlife, creating a distinctive blend.

Because of this unique style, Odumodu has become a muse in the music industry. Songs like “Picanto,” “Declan Rise,” and “Oganigwe” (his 2023 collaboration with Zlatan Ibile) have elevated his profile and firmly established his name in the Nigerian mainstream Hip-Hop scene.

On his Mixtape “Eziokwu,” a word that means “truth” in the Igbo language, the rapper delves into his identity and worldview.

The overall thematic tone of the mixtape is apparent from the project’s cover art, title, and the 14 tracks that form a cohesive musical work. Let’s start by listing the tracks included in the Eziokwu mixtape.

Mixtape Cover Art

Mixtape Cover Art

The artwork crafted by Slawn depicts the two versions of Odumodublvck–the one who wears a beanie and the one without. The double nature may imply that to him when he looks at himself in a mirror, he sees himself reflected exactly as “Eziokwu”, meaning “truth”.

Eziokwu Mixtape Track List and Featured Artists

Eziokwu Mixtape Track List and Featured Artists

The success of any musical project hinges on several factors, including collaborations, production quality, lyrical content, and social awareness.

To infuse his project with the classic touch necessary for survival in our highly competitive industry, Odumodublvck collaborated with both A-list Nigerian artists and some underground icons.

Featured on the mixtape are Blaqbonez, Amaarae, Fireboy DML, Bloody Civilian, Wale, Reeplay, Psycho YP, Teezee, Bella Shmurda, Cruel Santino, ECko Miles, and Zlatan.

Here’s the list of tracks featured in the Eziokwu Mixtape:

  • Commend
  • Declan Rice
  • Kubolor
  • Adamma Beke
  • Shoot and Go Home
  • Tesla Boy
  • MC Oluomo
  • Blood on the Dance Floor
  • Firegun
  • Saint Obi
  • Strippers Anthem
  • Dog Eat Dog 11
  • Hammer Time
  • Picanto

Eziokwu Mixtape Analysis

Eziokwu Mixtape Analysis

Across the 14 songs in the mixtape, Odumodublvck playfully expands his Okporoko sounds while staying true to himself, his convictions, and his community through his words and actions. “Saint Obi,” a track featuring Reeplay, is a booming Hip-Hop collaboration that taps into the pulse and rhythm of Nigeria’s capital city.

“MC Oluomo” carries the same defiant streak that led to his viral single, “Declan Rice.” In other parts of “Eziokwu,” Odumodublvck reflects on his roots and the dreams that lie ahead, as he does alongside fellow pop-rap star Blaqbonez on “Tesla Boy.”

His affection for women also takes center stage in the mixtape. Psycho YP and Teezee join the rapper for an ode to money and the art of stripping in “Strippers Anthem.” He joyfully shares positive feedback from a partner after an intimate encounter in “Commend.”

When combined with emotionally charged tracks like “Kubolor” and “Blood on the Dance Floor,” which features Wale and Bloody Civilian, “Eziokwu” offers a glimpse into the mind of a star striving to stay authentic while developing a strategy for globalizing his Okporoko sound.

Have You Seen These?!!!

Project Summary and Rating

Project Summary and Rating

The “Eziokwu” mixtape is brimming with life, groove, and vitality. However, considering that Odumodublvck is an emerging rapper who recently earned two prestigious awards at the 16th Headies Awards, we set higher expectations for his work. This is not to undermine the mixtape but to emphasize that the rapper has yet to fully meet the fans’ lofty expectations after his impressive debut.