Review of Ravage by Rema: The Musical Invasion and Conquest of the Afrobeats Prince in 2023

The Mavin Records/Jonzing hitmaker burst into the limelight with his 2019 self-titled EP, exhibiting a raging appetite for dominance.

Review of Ravage by Rema 2023

On “Ravage” in 2023, the singer continues to display the self-assurance and no-holds-barred attitude that has propelled him through the years.

Ravage” is a 14-minute project consisting of barely five tracks, produced by London and P Priime. Apart from the title depicting a destructive invasion and vehement attack, there are other aesthetic elements of the project with significant impacts on the overall meaning of the EP.

One such element is the EP’s cover art. A careful interpretation of the project’s art cover is presented below.

EP’s Art Cover Analysis

EP's Art Cover Analysis

There is always a relationship between the title of a project and the cover art. The two are interwoven, and one can look through one and see the other.

The “Ravage” EP’s cover art showcases a symbolic, warrior-like figure riding and navigating through a fire-erupted pathway with his horse.

The cover art has a historical undertone tracing back to the popular Ozolua, also known as Okpame, the greatest warlord in the ancient Benin Kingdom.

The fire-erupted pathway represents the highly competitive music industry of modern Nigeria. This continuous invasion depicts the singer’s dissatisfaction with the “Prince of Afrobeats” title and his resolute quest to take over the throne.

Project Overview

  • Artist’s name: Rema
  • Project type: EP
  • Project title: Ravage
  • Writer: Rema
  • Genre: Afrobeats
  • Release Date: October 27, 2023
  • Number of tracks: 5
  • Runtime: 14 minutes
  • Record Label: Mavins Global Holdings/Jonzing World Entertainment

Tracklist of Ravage EP

The project comprises the following tracks:

  1. Trouble Maker
  2. DND
  3. Smooth Criminal
  4. Don’t Leave
  5. Red Portion

Theme of the Project

Theme of the Project

One thing that is often missing in the musical projects released by African artists is their ability to stick to the title of their projects, ensuring that all the tracks on the project reflect the project’s title. This approach provides a unified theme, as seen in Falz’s “Moral Instruction” and Bracket’s “Cupid Story.”

Rema’s “Ravage” has two major thematic concerns: self-gratification and the theme of romance. The first two tracks reflect self-gratification, which aligns with the EP’s title and cover art. The last three tracks explore the romantic exploits of the singer.

Have You Seen These?!!!

Analysis of the Ravage EP

Analysis of the Ravage EP

“Ravage” serves as the final chapter in the “Rave and Roses” universe. While Rema has never shied away from self-gratification, there is an undeniable shift marked by heavy-hitting production assistance from London and P.Priime.

While the romantic themes that were present in “Rave and Roses” are also found here, the singer makes it clear that he’s indifferent to being perceived as closer to the role of the Villain rather than the hero.

On “DND,” he boldly declares: “We I want good, say I want bad Say I want real, say I want fake Me I no do again.”

“Trouble Maker” depicts the artist’s journey to the limelight and his eventful dominance in the music industry, aligning with the EP’s title and cover art.

A crucial part of Afrobeats’ sustenance, Rema continues to draw from his well of inspiration, securing his space as an ardent student of the game.

With “Ravage,” Rema explores new depths while tightening his hold as the self-appointed “Prince of Afrobeats,” as he states in “Smooth Criminal.”

Thematically, “Smooth Criminal” serves as a bridge between the artist’s self-appraisal motifs and the admiration of women for him.

“Don’t Leave” is a sequel to the third track, exploring girls’ lustful desires for him and their longing to always identify with him.

The romantic escapade of this Afrobeats prince is carried over to “Red Portion,” leaving the fans slightly disappointed following the artist’s unconventional way of ending a “ravage.”

Critical Review and Rating

Critical Review and Rating

“Ravage” is an average project with a couple of tracks unrelated to the background on which it was built. While it might be challenging to have an entire project revolve around a superordinate theme, an EP with only five tracks should aim for thematic coherence.

Production-wise, London and P. Priime contributed their artistic energies to the overall making of the project. Although the tracks lack social consciousness, the lyrics are full of life and substance. On a scale of 10, our objective score for “Ravage” is 7.1.